My Christmas Wish List

With Christmas just around the corner, my husband and my kids are wringing their hands wondering what to get mom.  I’ve put together a list to help them along:

  1.  World Peace.  Miss America asks for it every year.  Why can’t I?  In fact, let the record show that I have always been in favor of world peace.   This year, I am urging my family to “Think Globally, Act Locally” and stop bickering, in particular my two youngest.  Little steps can make a difference, especially when it comes to preserving your mother’s peace of mind.
  2. Healthy, Safe and Kind Children.  This really is my number one gift request, but I am trying to present myself as altruistic, ergo the world peace appeal.  Like all mothers, I worry constantly about my children.  This year, we experienced some minor injuries, a broken wrist for Meg (basketball) and a separated shoulder for Kerry (football).  Both kids watched their playoffs and championships from the sidelines and handled their disappointments much better than their parents did.  We must be doing something right to raise such nice children.  At the end of the day, I just want them home in bed in one piece.
  3. Jobs for my Children when they graduate.  I guess I want a little more than their health and safety.  College graduation is at least four years away for Kerry, eight years for Meg.  Given the state of the economy, we might as well put in our request now.
  4. A Full-Time Cook.  OK, now I’m showing my true lazy self.  I once worked for a woman who had household staff including one guy who did all her grocery shopping and presented her with home-cooked meals every evening.  This is my fantasy.
  5. More Sunshine.  I live in the foggiest place on earth.  I am totally against global warming, except in my neighborhood.
  6. Gentle Menopause.  The lead-up to this next life passage has left me sleepless and confused.  Enough already.
  7. A New Mini-Backpack.  Years ago, I bought a powder blue, quilted mini-backpack from Target that I have used to death.  I take it to all sporting events, on bike rides, the occasional bus excursion, and anywhere I don’t want to carry a purse, but need to have a few necessities with me.  It now looks stained and gross, but I can’t bear to part with it because I have never found another backpack like it.
  8. A Warm Bed and a Roof Overhead.  I have this, but I never take it for granted.  So many people live on the street in San Francisco.  Here’s an incredibly shameful 2011 statistic:  nearly 2,220 public school students in San Francisco are homeless, enough to fill five or six elementary schools or an entire high school.
  9. More Material for my Blog.  I started posting in July and have truly enjoyed myself.  Sometimes I run out of things to write about, but more often, I just can’t bring myself to post what’s truly on my mind for fear of alienating my family and friends.  Ironically, my daughter thinks I have no filter, but I think she has no appreciation for my quiet tact.

Thank you to everyone for reading my blog and sticking with me.  I plan to keep blogging in 2012.  I hope Santa is good to you and your family this Christmas.  I wish you peace and health and safety and kindness in the coming year.  Love to all.

14 responses to “My Christmas Wish List

  • Joanne Desmond

    Nancy,

    Thanks for bringing me such enjoyable reading this year. I look forward to many more in 2012. Have a wonderful holiday and lets all hope for world peace and be grateful for what we have!!!

    XO Josie

  • Joe

    Nancy,

    I thoroughly enjoy your blogs. I am a great friend of Terri’s who turned me onto you. You are amazingly in touch. I always agree with everything you are saying. I have no kids but lots of family and nieces and nephews who I love like my own kids and worry about.

    Yes…Peace…always #1 in the prayer pile for sure…the world would be a much better place…and it does start with us….I won’t swear at the people who cut me off or won’t let me move over to the next lane on the freeway.
    And I promise myself I will not pass judgement. A work in progress for 2012.

    My fantasy is someone to clean the house. It seems like it is dirty the next day and my back hurts.

    As far as #7…I have several shirts and a wallet that are in a state of shreds. I just can’t find brand new versions anywhere and cannot part with them. I am embarassed to take my wallet out of my back pocket. I sort of sneak it out and hope no one is looking. As far as your backpack, well, I am sure you wish you had thought ahead and bought a second one and stored it in a closet. Maybe next time?

    Happy Holidays and Peace….Terri speaks highly of you and her friends from her youth….always a story….I know them all.

    All the best,
    Joe

    Glad you’ll keep up the blog…we look forward to it!

    • Nancy Hayden Crowley

      Dear Joe, You made my day. I don’t know you, but I love you. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Give my best to Terri and perhaps we can all meet in the New Year. I am saving your comments and reviewing them whenever I get writer’s block or feel my blog is trash. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Nancy

  • Katherine Petrin

    Nancy,

    Just like you I hate to shop but like to give thoughtful gifts (or even better experiences rather than matieral things) so during the year I keep an eye out for interesting goodies that I stash away until December. Inevitably I am a bit disappointed when I sort through the stuff that seemed perfect. The best “presents” are the tickets (movies, ODC, Yerba Buena), the outings (cable car rides, ice skating, museums, beach walks, our own walking tours like your day in Chinatown). Bravo for City Guides! Hope you and your family have a great holiday season!

    Lots of love,
    KP
    xo

    • Nancy Hayden Crowley

      Thank you Katherine. I’m racking my brain for ideas for our annual Christmas outing. Kerry’s voting for go-carts in the park, but Meg is a bit tentative. I got voted down on the Gold Rush walk. Any suggestions? Merry Christmas to all the Petrins. Hope to see you in the new year. xo

  • Sally McDonald

    Ok, I believe everything but the last one. You – YOU – run out of things to say. hahahhahahahha. You never have to worry about offending anyone because you speak from the heart. Even if people disagree with you, they won’t be offended. Say whatever you want, because you say it so well.

    Merry Christmas to all the Crowleys

  • maggie

    Nancy–I always feel better after reading your blog, as it often wonderful validation for my thoughts on topics ranging from world peace to how to raise wonderful, socially well adjusted children. Your #1 and 2 are high on my wish list, too. As for #9–more topics for your blog–you’re doing great. If I had the guts to write about all my fears, they would include things such as: who is that 50+ woman in the mirror? why do I push my kids so hard to be great? what would I do if I was a single parent? (no marriage troubles–honestly…) How will I ever live when my 81 year old Mother checks out? (she is holding her own but it is a huge fear of mine). Many thanks for the support and entertainment.

    • Nancy Hayden Crowley

      Thanks Maggie. We all have so many fears. We’re just afraid to talk about them and when we do, it’s such a wonderful release and our fears do not seem nearly as daunting. Thanks for your continued support. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all the family. xo Nancy

  • Theresa McGovern

    Nancy, thanks for always telling it like it is! Your honesty is always refreshing and very fun to read! You make me laugh and cry. I love all your topics and your writing is music to my ears:) May all your wishes come true and happy holidays to all the Crowleys!!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxoxo

  • Dora

    Hi Nancy,

    I remember seeing that powder blue mini backpack at the SI football games and thinking it may be time for a new one. However, as the boys advanced to the playoffs, I saw it as another good luck charm just like sitting together on the 50 and the necessity of wearing the same outfit (I did do laundry between games!). I appreciate your candor and do look forward to your 2012 entries. Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to the Crowley and Hayden clan!

    Love to all,
    Dora

    • Nancy Hayden Crowley

      Thank you Dora. I’m still looking for a replacement for my backpack, but you do make a good point. I did start to look at it as my talisman along with my red wardrobe as the boys were victorious. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all the Pias. XO

Leave a Reply

